The province is subdivided into 23 municipalities namely Aborlan, Agutaya, Araceli, Balabac, Bataraza, Brooke's Point, Busuanga, Cagayancillo, Coron, Cuyo, Dumaran, El Nido, Kalayaan, Linapacan, Magsagsas, Marcos, Narra, Quezon, Roxas, San Vicente and Taytay. Furthermore, there are 420 barangays and one city. Twelve municipalities are located in the mainland. The other 18 island municipalities are accessible by motorized bancas and launches plying the neighboring municipalities and the city of Puerto Princesa. The province has two types of climate: the first type which occurs in the northern and southern extremities and the entire western coast has two distinct seasons - six months dry and six months wet. The other type, which prevails in the eastern coast, has short dry season of one to three months and no pronounced rainy period during the rest of the year. The southern part of the province is practically free from typhoons but the northern part has persistent gales and torrential rains during July and August.