Papawai Rainbow Point, one of the best places to see Humpback Whales. In 1969, construction at the state capitol building. Hawaii's constitution was drafted in 1950 and became effective in 1959. The Governor is elected every four years chaired the executive. The legislature has a senate of 25 members elected every four years, and a House of Representatives with 51 members elected every four years also. The state elects two representatives and two senators to the U.S. Congress and has four electoral votes. Hawaii has long been known as a Democratic state. John A Burns, Democrat, was elected governor in 1962 and reelected in 1966 and 1970. Daniel Inouye, Democratic Senator Hawaiian, was elected in 1962 and was chairman of the "Iran-contra comitee" in 1987-1988. The defense, tourism and food processing (food) have been the mainstay of the Hawaiian economy, as the state plays a decisive role as economic and cultural bridge between the United States and the Asian and Pacific nations. In the nineties, Hawaii faced the challenge of preserving the natural beauty of your brewing environment while increasing its population, (especially on Oahu) and a thriving tourism industry. In May 2000, President Bill Clinton ordered federal agencies to expand coastal protection programs, including those specializing in protecting coral reefs.